Brief History of the Department of Educational Foundation & Curriculum

In 1968, when the Faculty of Education was established, the Department of Education became one of its components with staff strength of about seven, mostly expatriates. It was vested with the responsibilities of designing and implementing curricular that led to the award of degrees: BSc. (ed) and BA (ed) degrees. Later on BEd degrees were established which were run based on academic structure of two years. In the course of time, the department grew both in number of academic programmes (both undergraduate and postgraduate) and staff size. At its 441st meeting held on 25th August 2011, the Senate was informed of the NUC’s approval for the establishment of four departments derived from the former Department of Education with the Department of Science Education as one of them consisting of the following degree programmes:

Undergraduate Programmes:
B.Sc(Ed) Biology
B.Sc(Ed) Chemistry
B.Sc(Ed) Physics
B.Sc(Ed) Mathematics
B.Sc(Ed) Computer Science Education
B.Sc(Ed) Geography
B.Ed Integrated Science
B Ed Mathematics Education

Postgraduate Programmes, PGDE (Science):
MEd (Maths Educ.)
MEd (Science Educ.)
Ph.D (Maths Educ)
Ph.D (Science Educ.)